Being Thankful

I apologize for posting this now (since Canadian Thanksgiving is pretty much over), but I have been having some technical difficulties lately with my computer and this blog site. They have not been cooperating well.

Anyhow, I am thankful for actually being able to post this just after midnight on Canadian Thanksgiving (I almost made it, people). And really, if that’s the worst thing going on right now, then things are pretty good on my end.

Thanksgiving is generally a time to be grateful for the wonderful things in life, and this year I seem to feel extra thankful for the good things in life. So I just want to say a little thank you in this post.

thank-you-407397_640

Thank you for my amazing husband who loves me to pieces. You make everything worthwhile.

Thank you for my wonderful family and friends who are always there for me through thick and thin (you know who you are).

Thank you to my parents and inlaws for constantly supporting me.

Thank you to my friends for checking in with me and letting me know you care.

Thank you for the delicious food that I am able to feast on.

Thank you for the possibility of trying alternative medicine.

Thank you for the doctors who are working on keeping me alive so I can continue writing these thanksgiving blog posts.

Thank you for raw desserts, especially raw chocolate….so good.

Thank you for the great country I live in. It’s awesome, eh?

Thank you for giving me strength and courage to go on even when faced with challenges.

Thank you for fall fashion. Living in a world with just flip flops wouldn’t feel right.

Thank you for giving me a sense of humour that allows me to take some things with a grain of salt (while preventing me from going off the deep end on several occasions).

Thank you for nice people who make all the meanies out there more tolerable.

Thank you for all of the TV shows I am currently addicted too.

Thank you to all those who dedicate their lives to helping others.

Thank you to all those who read my blog and inspire me each day.

Thank you to all the wonderful people I have met along the way on this journey.

Thank you to all those who have such faith in my words.

Thank you to my organs for still functioning properly. You guys rock!

Thank you for the ability to think logically and coherently (most of the time at least).

Thank you for the ability to move around with ease and feel pretty good.

Thank you to my immune system for keeping the cancer in check still. Please keep doing that!

Thank you to my lungs for doing the best you can given all the little tumors invading your space.

Thank you for allowing me to enjoy another Thanksgiving spent with my family. Two actually! Spoiled!

Thank you for the fact that I am still alive. Take that cancer!

Thank you for life.

Till next year, Happy Thanksgiving to all!!! And remember to be grateful for all the little and big things in life.

Love, health, and being thankful!

xo

happy_thanksgiving

13 thoughts on “Being Thankful

  1. We are thankful for you! You inspire me so much! I remember what I poor Dad went through with his fight to live against cancer in 1970. He had just turned 43 when we lost him. All these years I have had great difficulty discussing cancer because of the heartbreak my family and I suffered at that time and for many years because we remembered so many details of what Dad endured.

    However, with your joyful personality, you have personally helped to broaden my views and understanding of this horrible, merciless illness as you share your life experiences in the most incredible blogs! Your love of life is wonderfully infectious! Your strength puts me to shame often. (I have had everything about living altered too with a chronic illness that in itself is non life threatening, but just plain painful and miserable.) In reading about everything you have done to make the best of it, melts away my severe pain, IBS, difficulty walking and sleeping and everything else because they are nothing in comparison to your life challenges.
    I admire your courage and strength so much!
    I admire your love for Garrett and your family.
    I admire your appreciation for everything that those who love you do to help you.

    You, I believe, are the nearest thing to a real angel on this Earth. I am not being funny when I say this because you have a pure, loving heart and you are remarkably generous with everyone. You really care. You emanate love.

    I regularly pray for you that you will be granted what you seek through prayer and that your cancer will disappear. You deserve a wonderful, healthy life from this day forward.
    God Bless you. Be well.

    I am thankful for you beautiful lady.
    xoxo

    Like

  2. Sabrina! Bill and I are thankful for having you in our lives! Thank you for making my son so happy! Thank you for inspiring me and teaching me about supplements and foods! We are pretty much organic now! Thank you for being you! You are very loved❤️.

    Like

  3. Sabrina, I read about you today in the Toronto Star. You are beacon of light! I can’t imagine all that you’ve been through, but your strength is inspiring. I had an amazing doctor (gynocologist!) who shared some alternative medicine information with me. He recommended meditation (a good practitioner/teacher is Jeannie Lee) and following a macrobiotic diet. I know there are many roads to good health and it sounds like you’re well on your way there, but if you’d like some other alternatives these are excellent choices.
    Stay healthy and strong!

    Like

  4. I second Bill. Have you been watching the Truth about Cancer series? I see you’re seeking out natural therapies and the series is only being shown for free for a few more days. A wealth of info. My husband is in remission so hence where my interest comes from in natural therapies. 🙂

    Like

  5. Hi Sabrina,
    I am not a religious person, … but having said that, I do believe there is a higher power or force in the universe and nature, that guides and connects us all. You are certainly a beacon for that force. You have all the right to be bitter and angry with all you’ve endured, yet you embody the spirit and joy of being the polar opposite. As millions of people now know your story, may the collective feelings of hope and positivity bridge that higher power and energy, to give you continued strength and ultimate reversal of your current struggle with this dreadful disease. I recently lost both my parents to cancer. Please keep planning, … far into the future. I’ll be thinking about you often … and hoping.
    Best regards and get well.
    Peter

    Like

  6. Dear Sabrina, it is funny how life has a way of connecting us with each other. I “stumbled” onto your blog because I was curious about a story in my news feed, “the girl with five separate cancers”. I was drawn to this story because I have battled my own cancer “monster”. I am 55 years old and I have battled cancer 5 times myself. The first time was in 1988 and I was 26 weeks pregnant with a baby that I had been trying to have for 5 years. I was diagnosed with hemangiopericytoma sarcoma. A sarcoma that developed on the lining of a blood vessel on the left side of my neck. I underwent radical surgery and radiation and luckily my only child, a daughter, was born. She is now 26 years old. I was told that my cancer was metastatic and it would be a waiting game to see where it would manifest itself again. For three consecutive years, 1989, 1990 and 1992 it came back in my lungs; first my left, then my right and then back to my left – about 12 tumours in total were removed. I told my surgeon that she should sew in zippers – it would make surgery so much easier! Thankfully, the sarcoma did not come back but in 2008, I was diagnosed with invasive ductal carcinoma and I lost my left breast. Why am I telling you all this? Dear Sabrina, I pray everyday and I am thankful for each new morning. I want you to know that I feel some kinship to you and I will keep you in my prayers. God bless you and your family. You truly are an inspiration to us all.

    Like

  7. Dear Sabrina, I thank you very much for being so amazing. You truly are an inspiration. From the bottom of my heart I hope all is well and everyone is surrounded by love. Thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

