Oscar and Mildred, you are proving to be rather annoying.

For those of you who just found my blog and haven’t read back from the beginning, I strongly urge you to do so, of course. However, you would be unaware that I haved named my cancers, doesn’t everyone? Β I guess after six cancer diagnoses you get a little bored and need to spice things up a bit. So,Β Oscar refers to my Osteosarcoma and Mildred refers to Oscar’s daughter, the metastatic cancer in my lungs.

Okay, now that everyone is on the same page, I will reveal my latest setback.

Tuesday I received the results from my last CT scan. The tumours in my lungs are still growing. The biggest tumour is 2.4 cm. On the one hand this shouldn’t be overly shocking as Osteosarcoma itself doesn’t really respond to any treatment, and metastatic Osteosarcoma survival rates from the 1970s are pretty much identical to what they are today in 2016. Terrible then and terrible now. However, I was a little disappointed because I had started a new treatment, DCA (Dichloracetate), which although not approved as a conventional cancer treatment, showed promising results in certain cancers, including sarcomas.

My scans are currently being reviewed to come up with a new plan of action against these extremely stubborn tumours. The DCA may have to be done more frequently, combined with other therapies including hyperthermia, or taken out and replaced with various other alternatives. Once I receive the details on my new course of action, I will let you know. The only good thing to all of this is that although osteosarcoma is freakishly aggressive in most cases, mine has been slow growing over the last two years despite any conventional treatment. Yay me!

In the meantime, my oncologist has also suggested I begin a new drug, Denosumab. Technically this drug is for osteoporosis and bone metastases. I know, sounds weird. However, research from PMH spanning 20 years is showing promise in patients with osteosarcoma. This may be the new best thing in terms of novel therapies for osteosarcoma. Although there is currently not much evidence or research as the use of this drug for osteosarcoma is new, for a patient with advanced cancer like myself, I am willing to try and hope for the best. Like with all drugs, there are side effects, but minimal in comparison to chemotherapeutic agents, which I have had my fair share of. At this point, chemotherapy could kill me, which Mildred is already trying to do, so I don’t want to accelerate the process. My oncologist seems uncertain as to whether this drug can have any effect on Mildred, what we are hoping for essentially is stabilization of disease. That is the only thing that can keep me alive, if we can stop Mildred in her tracks before she takes over my lungs.

As for me, I am doing okay. I am not really symptomatic. I have a bit more pain than before, it usually now feels like a truck ran me over in the morning, or someone sat on my chest while I was asleep. I guess this is the pressure on my lungs. Either that or Garrett is getting creative while he sleeps. I have also had a couple of lung spasms which generally last for 20-30mins, the pain is excruciating and I cannot really breathe during this time. However, I find heat helps the pain subside. I have now increased my trampoline usage (I got lazy for a while) and will be doing more deep breathing and meditation to help strengthen my lungs and improve my overall inner peace. Other than this, I cannot complain.

In terms of my emotional stability, well we can’t ever know for certain if it was ever completely normal πŸ™‚ I did have myself a good cry and the occasional breakdown which was cathartic I guess, and now it’s back down to business. I have to focus. I do have a lot on my plate to keep me busy, however when I need a break, I will remember to take one. My health must alwaysΒ come first.

The way I look at things is as long as there are options out there, I am good. I will leave you with a picture of me looking cool while receiving treatment.

wp-1455814442364.jpg

Health, love, and options.

xo

20 thoughts on “Oscar and Mildred, you are proving to be rather annoying.

  1. You are incredible- you really are… I love your sense of humour! I’m having a bit of a bad day ( my 12 year old couldn’t find any pants to wear to school today! We looked high and low- nowhere to be found( this is the child that loses everything). I got a call from one of my children’s teacher saying that he is not participating in high school drama class and is therefore a behaviour issue. I read about all that you are and have been going through and it puts these little issues into perspective. It shouldn’t be a bad day for me, it should be a great day! I think of you often and really pray for one of these new treatments to work!! Your attitude is incredible! I wish that alone could get you through! Though I don’t know you, here is a xo for you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Leigh, thank you so much for reading my blog and the wonderful comment. We are all human and have bad days, no matter how big or small the issue is. Things are frustrating. I am no exception. I get stressed if I get a pimple sometimes, really trivial in the greater scheme of things, but on some days that doesn’t seem to stop me. Just the fact that you are able to put things into perspective is amazing, a lot of people don’t do that. I really hope your son found something to wear πŸ™‚ and that you are feeling better. We all get down on ourselves and frustrated, this is completely normal and acceptable. It is so nice to hear from you! A big XO to you too πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Hi Sabrina,

    MANY thanks for your concern regarding my personal information. So sweet of you!

    You are in my thoughts & prayers on a very regular basis, & I cannot thank you enough for sharing these extremely personal issues with all of us. I am always at a loss for words when I read your Blog, which trust me, happens very rarely.

    My best to Garrett, & as always, BIG hugs to you!

    Can I post my e-mail address for you?

    With Blessings Of Good Health, Love & Happiness, Always,

    Renee

    Like

    • Thank you so very much Renee, it is always a pleasure to hear from you. I appreciate the kind words. You are very sweet πŸ™‚ I do indeed have your email address, thank you. All the best to you and your family xoxo.

      Like

  3. As an option I wish you would consider Oxygen infusement therapy as cancer cannot survive in an oxygenated environment. 3 of these options are Hyperbaric Oxygen Therapy, Hydrogen Peroxide therapy. or activated stabiized oxygen.Dr Otto Warburg got the Nobel Prize for this discovery in 1931.For your sake please google O2 therapies. You are incredibly brave and I will continue to pray for your health.

    Like

  4. I want to say thank you to you for posting these blogs. I went through cancer with my husband and am familiar with much of what you are going through, although if there’s anything I’ve learned, it’s that every single cancer journey is unique. I wrote my way through his cancer journey with a daily journal and sent out regular emails to keep everyone informed and ended up publishing a book called “10 – A Story of Love, Life, and Loss” based on those writings. I found the act of writing it all down was beneficial to me: to see it all in perspective, to give us hope, to give us signposts along the way to gauge our journey. A friend sent me this Anne Frank quote, “I can shake off everything as I write. My sorrows disappear, my courage is reborn.” By making it public, I hoped to give people a view of cancer, so that they would be less fearful and more hopeful and more conscious of living a better life. That’s what your blog does for us.

    There are so many cancer patients. It seems I hear of it everyday. Your blog posts keep us informed to the fact that they are always trying new drugs and treatments. They allow us to believe in the power of faith and healthy attitude. They let us smile with you and care about you. We learn how to live better lives ourselves. We learn that as long as we keep living, we can keep hoping, staying focussed on what we do have and getting the most out of every moment that we can.

    Keep writing. I keep reading, caring and praying. We can all make this journey together.

    Like

    • Wow, thank you so much Barbara πŸ™‚ It is incredibly heartwarming to hear that my blog is having such a positive effect on people. Your comment is so genuine and kind. I am honoured. You are very right in saying how powerful writing is in the cancer journey or healing process. It is very cathartic. I am glad to hear it helped you and congrats on the book, I would love to publish a book. That’s a goal I set for myself. Please keep reading my blog and adding your voice. I appreciate the prayers and positive energy xoxo

      Like

  5. Hope the denosumab helps stabilize Mildred, Sabrina. Glad you can find ways to help out your lungs and to keep your spirits up. You are looking so very cool in your treatment picture! Hope all the support helps keep the wind in your sails!

    Like

  6. You are beautiful angel. So inspiring! You will overcome this as the others you have!!! We both will!! See you soon my fellow cancer sis xo πŸ™πŸΌπŸ™πŸΌπŸ™πŸΌπŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’ͺ🏼πŸ’ͺ🏼πŸ’ͺ🏼πŸ’ͺ🏼πŸ’ͺ🏼πŸ’ͺ🏼πŸ’ͺπŸΌπŸ’›πŸ’›πŸ’›πŸ’›πŸ’—πŸ’—πŸ’—

    Like

    • Hey Raquele! Thank you so so much for the beautiful comment, and your email pretty much had me in tears. Sorry I missed you at the clinic today, I finished earlier. Hope I see you next Friday πŸ™‚ Take care fellow cancer sis xoxo

      Like

Leave a Reply

