Decisions have been made…and I can’t have regrets.

So after a very long and arduous debate with myself essentially, I have decided that I will undergo whole brain radiation. Yup, against my better judgement I am going to give them permission to fry my brain. What am I thinking?

This decision was not an easy one to make by any means, and I tried desperately to find another option. I reached out to many, had various medical professionals look into my case, and I even requested another MRI. Essentially, the verdict was more or less unanimous and the MRI (although they didn’t take pictures of the whole brain, just part of it for some very odd reason) did show slight progression on two lesions as well as some swelling.

There are pros and cons to whole brain radiation in this case, but what it really comes down to is that brain mets are unpredictable and can be quite aggressive in nature and deadly so the fact that even two have slightly grown is a good indicator that I cannot leave some of these guys behind. I need a clean sweep. The biggest concern is whether the radiation will actually work to get rid of all of them.

There are alternative therapies that I will need to stop during the radiation and two weeks after, but there are some things that I can do to both help protect my healthy cells while also making the tumours more sensitive to the radiation. 

Provided the radiation works, once the waiting period is over for supplements and alternative therapies, I will go super hard with trying to protect my healthy cells from mutations and radiation damage, and of course figure out how to control any disease elsewhere in the body. I have been intensely looking into German clinics at the moment. Apparently they have awesome spas in Germany too.

I will find out more tomorrow about the procedure, side effects during and after the radiation, and when and how long I will be put on steroids. Yes, I will be on roids people, which I am not looking forward to, but will most likely need them to control the brain swelling after they give it a nice dose of radiation. Look out, it’s Hulk Sabrina! 

Oh and at the request of my naturopath, I will be switching my diet a bit to a more ketogenic one. Adding tons of healthy fats, some protein, and essentially no carbohydrates (very, very little). I will still be having an insane amount of organic greens, however I am being asked to add some organic chicken and organic fish. I pleaded not to add meat (and remember this is coming from me, a girl who used to want to eat anything that moved, well okay maybe not anything), but I was shut down.  The reason behind this diet change is there has been some promising results on the ketogenic diet helping with malignant brain tumours in general. Essentially, you try to starve the cancer cells of sugar and force the body to fuel on fat (ketones) as opposed to carbs and glucose. Cancer cells seem to only survive on glucose, not ketones. I still will be eating primarily plant based foods, only way more healthy fats and the occasional addition of organic chicken, as I was already eating some fish. We’ll see how it goes.

That’s it for now folks, I will keep you posted.

I am going to have a relaxing evening with my hubby and rest my poor aching brain for a bit 🙂

Health, love and tough choices.

xo

8 thoughts on “Decisions have been made…and I can’t have regrets.

  1. Can’t imagine what you had to process through to get to this decision…but gad you’re going ahead…good luck…keep us posted…as always my thoughts are with you.

    Like

  2. Sabrina, I am amazed at your strength and humour in the face of such tough decisions! However, having seen you OWN the catwalk at the WellSpring fashion show, you clearly have a deep well of energy and determination. I will be thinking of you and wishing you only the best outcomes.

    Islay

    Like

  3. OMG! you are the strongest person I know! we are all behind you, and if anyone can fight this thing its you! hugs, hugs and more hugs!

    Like

  4. Bless you Sabrina! You are an amazing woman! Brilliant. Humorous. Unselfish. Brave beyond words! I continue to pray for your well being and a healthy end to all those nasty cancer cells. Much love to you both.

    Like

  5. Whew. Tough decisions. But you have done all your homework from all I know of cancer treatments and alternative treatments. You have beat it five times. Others have beat it. I’m cheering for you. Praying for you. Blessings.

    Like

  6. Crap crap and crap
    That’s all I can say
    You know your body…please fix it quickly ..
    So you can come to visit me in Montreal
    Love you, praying and sending you positive thoughts

    Like

  7. Sabrina I have been thinking of you….I pray you feel strong and confident with your decision. You have done all your research and you have lots of knowledge. When you close your eyes at night I hope for happy thoughts for you no scary feelings. I will continue to pray and think of you. Hugs xxx

    Like

  8. Dear Sabrina,

    I read your blogs & I am so taken back by the level of your honesty, incredible sense of humour, & the details you provide & share so openly.

    You give others strength to face the challenges in their lives, as we listen to the decisions you will now be facing.

    You are in my heart & prayers, & I pass those thoughts on to your Mother-In-Law.

    You are blessed with the love of a good man, your Family & friends support, & with your will & determination – go get ’em!

    Thank you again for always taking the time to share & give us permission to be a very small part of what I hope, provides loving kindness, right back to you.

    With Hugs & Blessings Of Peace, Always,

    Renee E.

    Like

Leave a Reply

