My Romantic Weekend In Emergency

So for our second anniversary, Garrett and I planned a trip away for the weekend. Instead, we ended up spending the weekend in emergency. Very romantic. I was tied up to bags of IVs and could barely move, people were screaming and shouting in the hallways and someone would show up to poke me for blood every so often. Yes, very romantic indeed.  

How did this craziness come about, you might ask? Well I had a fever the night before of 40.1 and apparently when I went to the clinic Friday morning for my usual treatments, my pulse was too high so the girls suggested I go to my family doctor. I quickly was able to see my family doctor who was also frightened by my pulse. He suggested I go to emergency. There I was thinking, okay people but we really have to speed things up here because I have to get ready to go away tonight. Have some last minute things to throw into my suitcase. I was in for quite the shocker.

I gave up on the weekend when I was admitted to the hospital that day. They set me up on their stretcher bed which was crazy uncomfortable to sleep in. But who am I kidding, who can sleep in emergency anyway without narcotics and being knocked out. I spent two nights in emergency before I was transferred to another floor. I ended up spending ten days in the hospital.

They ran all sorts of tests to determine where the fever and high pulse were coming from. They even shoved something way up my nose to ensure I didn’t have the flu. No flu for me. Seems pretty barbaric though. What was bewildering was that my hemoglobin which had dropped to 76 ended up further dropping to 42 overnight. This is where they figured I was bleeding internally somewhere. But I really didn’t have any symptoms of bleeding or so I thought. When I went to the bathroom my stool was black. And I mean black like tar. For those that are squeamish, sorry. It was one of the most disturbing things I have seen. Anyway, at that point they were considering a gastrointestinal bleed. 

One test I absolutely detest is the endoscopy. Well lucky for me I ended up having 4 of these in 5 days. Apparently the doctor said that was a record for him. He had never scoped the same person 4 times in 5 days. Leave it to me to set the record. They found a blood clot with something at the back of it. The reason to keep shoving this tube down my throat was to determine what was hiding behind the blood clot. Finally, on the fourth time it was determined to be a 4cm polyp hiding out. They thankfully were able to remove the polyp. Just waiting for the results now. The team was great, I must say. Aside from the final scope, they kept me very comfortable. I was essentially knocked out for the first three scopes. I handled the conscious sedation very well. Oh and I also had a colonoscopy while we were at it, go big or go home, right?  My colon was okay. They removed a polyp which was benign. 

The biggest issue with all the scopes was I couldn’t eat. I was on fluids for practically a week. I was starving. When I finally could eat, my throat was killing. Honestly the hospital food was looking very appetizing by that point. And when Garrett bought me a Tim Horton’s croissant, I was in heaven. Although we didn’t enjoy a weekend away, my wonderful mom made cannelloni and brought them to the hospital so Garrett and I could enjoy. 
image

Now just when I thought things were settled and the issue was dealt with, we had to deal with the issue of why I was so swollen. Umm perhaps the 4 litres of fluid pumped into me the first day of emergency. I looked like the Goodyear blimp. I thought the floor was thumping when I walked.  Seriously. So this was obviously major fluid retention. However it didn’t quite explain why my left arm and freshly manicured hand were so much larger than my right. Well, to keep things interesting, I ended up with a blood clot in my vein due to a bad IV in that arm. They kept it in too long. Now I am on blood thinners to try to correct the issue. I will be seeing the Thrombosis clinic shortly to determine the anti-coagulant management. What a mess! 

I am just super happy to be home. I thought the longer I remained in hospital, the more they would find issues that needed to be analyzed. I needed to get out of there and just let my body heal. Not to mention sleep for a bit. And to think it all started with a fever.

But for the record, once I am better, that romantic weekend away will happen.

Health, love and emergency rooms.

Xo

6 thoughts on “My Romantic Weekend In Emergency

  1. Hi Sabrina, sorry to hear you ended up in hospital for your anniversary and for so many days. Glad they found the polyp and that you had a good team of doctors. Did it take that many scopes before they found it?
    Hope you get to go on your anniversary weekend very soon. Thinking of you… Take care xx

    Like

  2. Hello beautiful Sabrina! πŸ’• I am very sorry your romantic anniversary plans were sidelined and you endured yet another ordeal in the hospital. Grateful for your good medical team and that they were able to locate and remove that polyp. Sending you much love and prayers for good health and that special romantic time away with your amazing husband. Love, Connie πŸ’•πŸ’•

    Like

  3. Oh, Sabrina. I’m so sorry to hear your wonderful weekend turned out to not be so wonderful. Here’s wishing that romantic getaway happens soon enough. Meanwhile, you’re still writing, still retaining that good humour, and staying strong. Thanks for keeping in touch with us. You are still in my daily prayers.

    Like

  4. Hi Sabrina. I just saw your story on the news. I found it very touching and wish the best for you. You did speak about wearing a wig and l would have never noticed. I cut my hair very shot a couple of months ago and was looking to donate my hair. If you could use it, l would love for you to have it. It’s 13inches long and has a touch of grey.

    Like

    • Hello there, thank you so much for the well wishes. I truly appreciate the offer, but I do have a wig already. However I think it is a truly fantastic idea if you are thinking of donating. Someone can always benefit from that. Wishing you and your family a Happy Thanksgiving πŸ™‚
      Sincerely,
      Sabrina

      Like

Leave a comment